ARGO (Warner Bros. Pictures/CR: Claire Folger) Argo continues its awards run this season, as writers Joshuah Bearman, Antonio J. Mendez and screenwriter Chris Terrio were honored with the 25th annual USC Libraries Scripter Award for their respective work on Argo.

Terrio’s screenplay is based on Mendez’s autobiographical account The Master of Disguise and Bearman’s 2007 Wired Magazine article “The Great Escape.”

“I think that with adaptation you hope another writer can come and take a look at your work and see a new perspective and add insight, which is certainly the case with Terrio,” said Bearman during his acceptance speech.

The Scripter selection committee picked Argo over 84 eligible movies, which were eventually narrowed down to six finalists.  Members of the committee include critics Kenneth Turan and Leonard Maltin, The Insider screenwriter Eric Roth, and authors Michael Chabon (Wonder Boys) and Mona Simpson (Anywhere But Here).  Since 1988, the Scripter has honored both the screenwriters and the authors of the original source material.

The black tie event took place Saturday at USC’s Doheny Memorial Library.

Find Us On Facebook:

Follow Us On Twitter: @Hollyoutbreak

Posted by @GregSrisavasdi